fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Charlie's birthday

When I went out running at Christmas with Hannah, Izzy, and Milly, Charlie resolved that she'd complete 'couch to five k' by her birthday, and today was the day!

I picked up Hannah just after eight and we went across to Alexandra Park meet Charlie and some of her friends who'd offered to come and do Park Run with her. What a good bunch!

Hannah ran with Charlie, and I thought I'd take the opportunity to stretch my legs a bit, although one of Charlie's friends, Lulu, appeared at my side after a minute or two, so I ended up doing a fair pace AND chatting to her on the way 'round.

And I'm pleased to say that Charlie completed the 5k! She looked so happy, coming up to the line with Hannah, and all her friends cheering her on.

Later, the three of us met up with Milly at Peveril Of The Peak for preprandial drinks, and the we went on to meet the Minx at Pho Cue for a Vietnamese birthday lunch, followed by drinks at The Gas Lamp.

And early evening, the Minx and I went to see Mark Radcliffe's band UNE playing in the wonderful setting of Portico Library before setting off on the drive down to London. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.