Sonset25

By Sonset25

Southwold

The hound kept waking me last night.  No amount of coaxing with treats could get him off the 'island' rug to brave the slippery 'sea' of the floor to his bed. 

As a result by 6.30 I saw no point in trying to stay in bed.  We were out walking within 15 minutes. The tide was in.  

We stayed out for around 40 minutes.  It was beautifully sunny with a keen breeze.  Glad to have my thicker coat and scarf.  

I was delighted and pleasantly surprised to watch a skylark hovering and singing above me with the sunshine highlighting its tail feathers and wing tips.   I was too mesmerized to take a blip.  I haven't heard one for years. 

When we first set off the beach was deserted.  As we left other dog walkers and joggers appeared.  I relished the peace and solitude which I wish could be captured in a bottle to take when needed.  Though nothing will beat the reality of the sight, sounds and feel.

Drove to Southwold in the morning for supplies.   We walked along the seafront to enjoy the sun-sparkled sea.  The high street has a variety of bakery, food and clothing shops.

We once holidayed in a cottage not far from the lighthouse in my main blip taken from the pier.  The lighthouse beam shone through our bedroom window intermittently.  Quite magical.

A promenade on the pier wasn't to be missed either. 

Back at our Kessingland cottage we just missed a shower.  By and large the weather has been fine.  

The hound has braved the floor on several occasions today.  He's exhausted from his walks with new sights and scents.  We should all sleep well tonight.

Pleasant evening everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.