Sonset25

By Sonset25

Alexanders

Hound had a quiet night and so did I.  We stayed in Kessingland today. 

We walked south along the beach this morning.  I've noticed this plant on our journey here and on the heath which leads onto the beach.  I looked it up, I believe it is called Alexanders, (smyrmium olusatrum) also Petroselinum Alexandria - Parsley of Alexandria.  It's also called horse parsley and  black lovage among other names. 

It has culinary and medicinal purposes.   It's believed to originate from the Mediterranean and brought here by the Romans. 

Recent research indicates the oil contains high levels of isofuranodiene which has caused cell death in human colon cancer cells and potential neuroprotective properties.

Who knows where my curiosity will lead me.. . .

Our afternoon walk we headed north.  The sky looked threatening but the sun shone after the hound and I left the beach. 

Pleasant evening everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.