Photogen

By Photogen

Saturation

I was fascinated by the results I achieved on 22 June by post processing the rain droplets that hover on the thin layer of air that forms in the gap between the droplets and the water-resistant leaf surface of lady's mantel (alchemilla).

With rather a lot of rain around today I decided to explore this further when I spotted a new alchemilla plant pushing into the light in the middle of another leafy ground-cover plant. They do have this tendency to generate offspring everywhere! I'll be removing it in due course.

I adjusted colour and curves, and applied a poster edges filter. The real colour is much paler, but this is saturated colour to represent saturating rain! However, it does show the jagged-edged alchemilla leaf contrasting with its smooth-edged companion. The intensity of the myriad of little white droplets on the alchemilla also contrasts with the larger globules on the smoother leaf. The latter is reflecting light differently because the water is actually on the leaf, not on an air layer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.