JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Cock Lane

S was here supporting J today. It was only our second day with support in two weeks: her other PA has been away, which has limited my opportunities for walks, jobs and other activities. I was looking forward to a positive, productive day, with a longer walk and gardening as well as a bit of time to relax. It wasn't supposed to rain all day. 
 
After lunch, it seemed to have stopped, or almost. I thought I could fit in a quick walk round the village between downpours, but I was wrong again. Fine, misty drizzle soon thickened into steady rain, then became a downpour. I had only taken my phone, but decided wet lanes and the varied textures of local building materials might look good in black and white, and Cock Lane is a good place to find both. This was my penultimate photo, before I decided it was too wet to risk taking the phone out of my pocket and headed briskly for home. 

It was not a bad day, though, despite the scuppering of my plans. As well as completing several useful indoor jobs, I sat in blissful solitude over a leisurely breakfast of P's savoury scones and good coffee. I watched some black and white editing videos, which fired my enthusiasm to learn more about my software. After my wet walk, I dried out with tea and knitting: J's rainbow socks are almost finished; and the opportunity to relax and take time out as well as ticking off some jobs on my list left me happier and, I hope, more patient.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.