GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

The Mourning Dove Saga continues...

I was still mourning the probable demise of the Mourning Dove babies when I caught sight of something rustling under the lime tree.  And who should be there? but the much grown babies!  Mom and Dad were a few feet away pecking at the ground under the olive tree.  The family was back together again!  Rejoice!  They have abandoned their nest in the rather exposed bird feeder house and have taken up residence under the shrubbery in my yard.  It's wild to walk in the yard and have 4 doves walking alongside me! The babies are grown but still feeding on crop milk from their parents throat.  I know this because I watched them dining.  The photo was taken just after their snack time.  I haven't yet seen the babies fly.  They must be practicing!  I can't tell you how so very relieved and happy I am to know that they are all alive and well.  I feel better about flying away myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.