horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Swallow Cannibalism!

Seemed only right to use a shot from my brief attendance at the BlipMeet that happened to be walking through my local park. It was Meles I think who pointed out the fledgling swallows lined up on the branches, four of them, waiting to be fed. Of course for the most part there were lovely clear views, then the second the adult flew in with some tasty treats some long grass got blown in front of the scene. Pah.

Meles was clearly on 'spotter' duty and also saw the two late ducklings that I then sat and got some shots of, including one of them cleaning its foot. I'm generally terrible with names, so I know that Trev, DaveH, Shandonner, Arclight and Whisky Foxtrot were also there - but I'm lost beyond that... Will check out their blips later. I was only able to join them for the Figgy wander, not making it down to the Espy for a pint, as I had to head out to Lothian Cat Rescue to drop off a donated scratching post from their Amazon wishlist. And of course, it would have been rude not to go and see the cats and kittens (seriously cute link, honest).

We're still pondering a second cat...

Busy day, after starting early to go on a wee 20-odd mile spin on the bike, then some minor building repair and gardening. Though there was time for a little macro fun, with a fab Zebra Spider (who looks like he's wearing shades...) and a stunning Soldier Fly that looks like it's made out of green metal.

Any one of the links above could have been the blip today, which always means it has been a good day really... But now, relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.