horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Ravelston Gardens

I'm still racking up the best examples of Art Deco architecture in Edinburgh. There are plans for a coffee-table type book with all of this, so it's about a little bit more than simply my own gratification (though I wouldn't be doing it unless I loved the architecture on offer). This is one of three identical buildings that make up Ravelston Gardens, designed and built smack-bang in the middle of the 30s, in the International Style, in a 'butterfly' plan (visible from above in Google Earth). The garages curve round, and the balconies and windows exude deco style (even though some of the windows have been replaced).

I could only get in the first of two doors before the entry system stopped me going any further, but inside there are wonderful sweeping staircases, and beautiful touches of the era. I'll have to try and get inside (erm... legitimately...) sometime soon.

There's a lovely quote about the buildings from a book by Charles McKean which describes them as... "Jaunty blocks of international style flats on a butterfly plan, complete with roof gardens, canopies, balconies and curving garages. Particularly clever design incorporating up-to-date labour saving devices. Must have caused quite a stramash amidst the douce, opulent villas of the Dykes..."

This was on my lunchtime, started racking up the miles on the bike... And the shot edges out a cute little duckling (love the colour of the reflection on the water).

Better Monday than usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.