Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Derelictweek - Clapped Out Tap

The end has broken off from my shower mixer tap, making it look tatty and unattractive. Some little sprocket-type tabs have sheared off and no longer grip into their corresponding slots to hold the end onto the rest of the mixer bar. If you don’t already know, you might be shocked at how much of what looks like metal in bathrooms is actually plastic, coated to look like metal. The plastic eventually goes brittle and then snaps easily. I wouldn’t mind, but this fitting is only about 6 years old and I would have expected it to last a bit longer than that. I managed to get a replacement part, but it has a couple of extra sprocket-type tabs on it which I’m going to have to try and deliberately break off before it will fit on properly.

Many thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelictweek.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.