Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Friday with Friends

Over to Buckinghamshire in the morning, and after a quick grocery shop in Waitrose I spent a few hours finishing the novel we’ve been reading ready for our book club meeting. I quite enjoyed it, though the 100-year-old man who was the main character seemed to have rather more stamina than could realistically be expected of someone that age. It was okay if you suspended disbelief, I suppose, maybe a tad saccharine for my tastes. Not in my top ten, but not bottom of the pile either.

The sunset along the valley viewed from my window is one of many things I shall really miss when I have sold my flat. There are pros and cons to both Bucks and Essex, but my heart is in Tiptree and the bungalow will suit me to grow old in, as it did my parents. Everything is nearby, and if it comes to it one day I could manage to get to everywhere I needed on a mobility scooter and remain independent for as long as possible. Still no signs of a buyer for the flat yet, after it being on the market for 7 months and the price being lowered. I’ve got a nasty feeling the buyers are waiting for a change of government before plunging into the property market, which means a long wait until the autumn. I hope I am wrong!

At book club we discussed the novel for about 15 minutes out of our 4+ hours together - the rest of the time was spent catching up on where we all are in our busy lives and having a good laugh, which is just what everyone needs. A snap of our jolly faces is my Extra today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.