Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Sunshine and birthday cards

In this household, 24th March always marks the end of winter - and my birthday. Here are my cards in the sunshine.

It's been an interesting day because one of Mummy hazelh's old friends, who remembers my actual birthday, came to visit. She, her husband, my mother, and my father were very young parents living close to one another just south of Edinburgh in 1963. My father was a veterinary student and her husband was (supposedly) studying for his A levels (but, in reality, was not). Her son was born 6 weeks before me. 

Our visitor told us all about her elopement to Scotland aged 19 (they told their parents that they were going on a pony trekking holiday), bonding with Mummy hazelh who was also pregnant (with me) when they first met, their trips into Edinburgh to go to the public baths to wash their hair, and being wolf-whistled in the street when out pushing their prams. She lives in Cambridge now, but one of her sons lives near Haymarket so she visits Edinburgh from time to time. I hope that we will see her again because she's lots of fun.

I have a very busy day tomorrow, so it's an early night for me. 

No exercise today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.