Teasel

By Teasel

Magnolia Stellata

My day started off with sorting out the mountain of laundry, and then getting the washing machine on as it was looking like a lovely spring day.  I did a few chores, then headed out for a short walk and realised that there was a gale force wind and it was a very cold wind at that.  I came back via the pop up bakery, with a few purchases.  I had to queue for a wee while and was pleased to be served, so I could get moving again.  I was reluctant to head out for a run, but eventually got myself out.   Running into the wind was exhausting.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, I also had to contend with horizontal driving rain – which was just horrible.  I got pretty wet and cold, but had to  keep going.  The shower passed, and the sun came out again.  I dried off, and I had the wind behind me on the return leg of my run, which was a huge relief.  I was exhausted when I got back home.  All in all a pretty horrible five mile run.
 
I was very much looking forward to my lunch, and I made sandwiches with the fresh baguette – bought this morning from the bakery.  BB then devoured what was left of the bread.  I had to rescue my washing – due to the wind and rain.  I left some out as it hadn’t dried off – and it then got wet a couple more times, but was dry by the evening. 
 
Later in the afternoon I popped out for some provisions and to stretch my legs off.  It was then home to make Ottolenghi’s allium pasta which is a favourite. 
 
This evening, BB announced that he would like to attend the open day for offer holders at Strathclyde University, so plans were made.  It was Roy Orbison night on BBC4 – which TT and I came upon quite randomly – so we watched some of it. 
 
And in other news we heard tonight  that BB’s DofE stuff has all been signed off – so he has completed his Gold Award.  We’re very pleased for him, but he’s very underwhelmed by it all.  I feel I have played a huge part in this – mostly through nagging him – that must be worthy of a gold medal in itself!!  My nagging can now move on to something else – probably exam prep, or lack of it.
 
This magnolia stellate in my neighbour’s garden, is just bursting into bloom.  I think it got badly frosted last year, which meant no decent flowers.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.