Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

One of my favourites

A dreich day today in Oban. Dull from the start and with several attempts at raining - what a change from yesterday!

Indoor stuff this morning - mostly Photo Club office work. I went out for a walk around the streets after lunch and returned feeling grumpy - everywhere I go the roadside banks are piled with prunings and rubbish from people's gardens. Today I spotted what must have been a complete camellia bush, quite a big one, cut up into pieces and with hundreds of flower buds about to open. What made it worse was that it was all dumped on top of daffodils and emerging bluebells! Grrr!

Came home and did a bit in the garden. I'd planted some Asteranthera ovata, a Chilean creeper, on the moss bank below the house, but the moss is so thick that it's overwhelming the creeper. I managed to extract several rooted stems and potted up 15 of them - hopefully I'll be able to grow them on and find a better place to plant them.

As I walked up the drive I was surprised to see this lovely primrose which has seeded itself in the middle of the bed - I hadn't noticed it before. One of my favourite flowers.

Random Quote of the Day: 'From the moment I picked your book up until the moment I put it down I could not stop laughing. Someday I hope to read it.' - Groucho Marx (to Leo Rosten).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.