Marionb

By Marionb

All sorted!

Well, as bleary eyed as I am..it has been worth it...I have now sorted out all those boxes of slides that were hiding in the laundry room.. I have separated them into  categories ...travel, family, friends and work...

Some travel slides of specific trips (eg: England 1987) have been separated into smaller boxes along with written material like letters and postcards home so that one day, they can be to be made into photo books with text. Oh how I wish I had been keeping travel journals back then... creating a travel photo book with no reference material will be a real challenge if I have to rely on my memory alone! 

I have chosen the trip I will start working on first - England 1987 taken with my friend Elaine T.  I remember some of the highlights ...like a flat tire, side punctured by a close encounter with a stone wall hidden under the foliage that lined a narrow one-lane road in Devon....or was that Cornwall? And..driving through Snowdonia but seeing nothing because of the fog, walking in awe on a clear day along the top of the white cliffs at Capel-le-Ferne , and hiking in the evening up to a stone circle on the moor near our B&B in Moretonhamptstead, sitting in it as the fog rolled in and then seeing shadows of something moving toward us in said fog... oooohh.. eerie... very scary...but haha..just cows! Memorable..... but so many other memories of that trip are pretty hazy.

I plan to check with Elaine when she gets back from her latest excursion, to see if she had kept any written records or had written letters home or still has some slides, photos or vivid memories to share..Maybe over a glass of wine by the fire...? Making that book might be more fun than I had thought...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.