flavia13

By flavia13

MOUNT EVEREST FOR THE INSECT WORLD!!

First of all I want to say that my thoughts are with all those that are affected by the awful destruction of the Bridge in Baltimore.  I couldn't believe what I was seeing this morning, the whole 1.6 mile bridge collapsed as it was made out of matchsticks!!!!  So upsetting. 

I then decided that I really did need to get on with having a nice day so as I had a phone call yesterday to say that my 12 x 8 print of the Arnside Sunset photo I took a few years ago had been framed and was ready for collecting.  So we decided to have a morning in Kendal.

We arrived by 10.00 am and already Booths Car Park was almost full, so I'm glad we did.  We went straight to Farrer's for coffee then went to pick up the framed print.  I'm so pleased with it.  It's the first time I've ever framed a photo that I have taken myself, it feels a bit like boasting but I've always been quite proud of that photo so I don't know why I haven't framed it before.  Is it showing off too much to have one of your photos on your wall!??  Anyway Hubby loves it too so we will find somewhere to put it.

After that I went to Wilkinsons Camera Shop, just to have a look of course, but Eeeeeeeek  It wasn't there - the Westmorland Shopping Centre in Kendal is now practically empty it's so sad to see it like that.  I couldn't believe Wilkinson's would close down as it's somewhere I've used quite a lot since we moved here.  A quick Google on the phone to find they had simply moved - they are now at 5 Highgate, almost opposite the Fleece Inn!!!  Phew!!

We went in to have a look and they had a pre-owned 80-400mm Nikon Lens at a really good price, so I thought about it, left the shop, went back, talked to the staff about it - put it on my camera to test it.  It's only 100mm bigger than the one I currently use but I've wanted a bigger zoom for a while, mostly for when I want to take photos of birds and/or wildlife from a distance.  

I have investigated and couldn't afford or justify a brand new lens and the bigger the zoom the heavier it gets of course which makes it impossible and as I'm not one for taking my tripod everywhere with me (I'm too lazy for that) it has to be manageable handheld.  Do I really need  one that is only 100mm bigger!!!  Hubby said go on have it, that can be your 70th Birthday Present from me!!!!! (It's not my birthday till the end of June) - so I've come away with a "new to me" lens!!!  

I will still use the one I currently use most of the time but when visiting Leighton Moss or similar places will take that one with me.  It comes complete with hood, lens cover and bag to carry it in.

We then went to Boots and M&S for bits and pieces, trying to use shops rather than buy on-line otherwise there will be no shops.  We stopped off at Low Sizergh Barn for a light lunch - very tasty.  We have noticed that the prices have gone up and the portions have got smaller but I guess that's just the way it is now.  Still very tasty though.

On the way home we noticed that the crane was in situ ready to lift the de-railed train off the tracks so I took a photo as we sailed past in the car (see extras) - not the best of shots but as we were in the car and moving not too bad I suppose!!).

So that's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe.  

I've just this minute received my BUS PASS - now to find out where and when I can use it!!! On the bus pass I am known as Mayreen because the young lady accidentally pressed the wrong key - that's a first. my name has shortened many times but never a MAYreen before!!!

LOVE AND THOUGHTS TO BALTIMORE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.