Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

My Mammy

I took her out for a spin around Killiney and Dalkey and we went into Finnegans for their legendary fish pie for lunch.

It did not disappoint.

When we were waiting for the food to arrive, my phone rang. I didn’t recognise the number but answered it anyway. It was our President Michael D. Higgins’ secretary asking me for my mammy’s details, confirming date of birth etc. as she will receive a personal letter from him and a cheque for 2450 bobs when she is 100.

https://president.ie/en/about/centenarian-bounty

Yes. The Centenarian Bounty. Isn’t that a great, descriptive, coming-of-age(literally) phrase.

The secretary (Kathy) was pleasant and helpful.

Unfortunately when we were out on our scenic drive, the weather was dreadful. Pure Irish drizzle, damp, overcast and the lovely scenery all obscured. But we had a great chat, cleaned our plates and got a call from El Presidenti…. Not a bad day.

I dropped her back and am just home now (3.15) and the sun is making an appearance…. grrrr

I think this is a lovely photo of my dear mother. She has a sunny disposition, keen observation, generous spirit but also no eejit. You wouldn’t put one over on her easily (this is possibly an Irish phrase meaning she is very shrewd). And great company. When we were seated in the pub/restaurant, she called the waitress from way down the room to tell her ‘there’s a terrible draught in here’. I think that generation are a bit obsessed with draughts.

Anyway I got home to try and complete an assignment for Human Growth & Development (I am on course to fail this module and am on my third extension for this assignment) - but had a quick cuppa and biscuit before I start into it and made the mistake of browsing the TV page to discover one of my all time favourite fillums is on at 4.15pm. Thats right you guessed it. Von Ryan’s Express. OMG Frank Sinatra squaring up to the Germans. I’ll just watch the first half an hour; turn it off; turn on my pc and plough through an assignment. Hmm let’s see how that goes.

***

A big THANK YOU for all the stars, hearts, comments on my yesterday’s blip. I’m a bit bamboozled by all the love. I will reply to everyone presently but not today; as right now I’m gonna make a ham sandwich, another cuppa and watch a great fillum (for the first half hour)

Yes indeedy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.