Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A missed opportunity, but two results

I've been having lots of phone calls ostensibly from O2, telling me they have taken over the Virgin Media phone network, (they have, I checked online). A foreign chap, possibly Indian, hard to understand, tells me I am to get a new SIM card in the post any day. Yeeess... they then pass me on to their (also foreign and hard to understand) 'manager' to complete the process - they want my email and... 'No thank you!'

The phone calls come from Ballymoney, Cambeltown, Leicester, Birmingham, but I'm sure it's the same chap - How do they do that?

'Why don't you just send the SIM card with a covering letter, I'll take it from there'.

'Are you ringing 10,000 people personally to tell them this?'

They rang today after a few days respite, and so I decided to pop down to the O2 shop in the St James Centre and speak to somebody. Archie came too, he likes it there.

Yes, there is a takeover, and yes, it is a scam. Some VM customers have required new SIMs, but if I haven't got one by now, then I don't need one. Funnily enough, they rang again while I was in the shop. I wasn't thinking fast enough, I should have got the O2 chap to answer it. B*gger!

Archie and I walked through town, I had a vague idea of going to my favourite shoe shop at the other end of Princes Street to get some new slippers, but I couldn't be bothered. We went to look at the outdoor photographic exhibition instead. It was all about the problem of debris in space.

This photo is of Tim Peake (a British astronaut) but the small photo on his fame was damage to a space ship window, caused by a fleck of loose paint or a piece of dust flying around in space. You can just about read the caption at the bottom. Imagine the damage if it been a bigger piece of junk!!

JR later went to the supermarket in the shopping centre and happened to spy slippers. She sent me a photo of two pairs and I could choose. £11. Result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.