peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Secret garden...

I have walked along the Harleyford Road from Vauxhall station to the Oval countless times to indulge my love of cricket. For many years I've been aware of the iron gates on the other side of the road, but I've always been too focussed on getting to the ground to investigate what lay behind them.

Today, with no cricket to watch and some time to kill, curiosity got the better of me, and that is how I came to visit Harleyford Road Community Gardens. It really is a little oasis of calm right next to a busy main road, and I'll definitely be setting off early to this season's Surrey and England matches to see how it comes to life over the course of the summer. For now all I can offer are a couple of hoverflies and some pretty flowers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.