peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Abbot's Hospital

I'd only ever been to Guildford for work, and that was back in the last century. I decided to go there on a whim this morning because the sun was shining and forecast said it wouldn't last beyond lunchtime (and they were right!). I need to brush up on my architectural/landscape photography technique and got back for a more serious visit at some point as there are a number of things worth snapping, including the castle ruins and gardens, the war memorials,  and many other old buildings.

For today all I can offer is a somewhat distorted shot of the Abbot's Hospital , a rather wonderful looking set of alms houses, founded in 1619 by local lad George Abbot, who went on to become Archbishop of Canterbury. The extra is of the interior courtyard and was taken at the limit of open public access, to preserve the privacy of the residents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.