What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Hawkshead

Thank you all so much to you all for such positive comments on my blip from yesterday. 

I recently got a commission - not the most exciting of my life - to get some photos for packs of Lake District biscuits. For which they were looking for Keswick, Hawkshead and Bowness.

Ironically, I have plenty of photos of Keswick, hardly any of Hawkshead and even fewer of Bowness. As today was a beautiful day, I headed to Hawkshead. After familiarising myself with all the lanes & alleyways, I decided that the classic view of the church was favourite. So I positioned myself, and waited for the light, as there were clouds over the Sun.

Just as the Sun came out I had a family standing in the middle of the path shooting selfies (no problem), but sadly as they moved the Sun disappeared behind another cloud. A 20 minute wait, the Sun came out ... Just as a walking group were coming along the path. As they passed (you guessed) ... the sun went in again. After 45 minutes wait, path clear, Sun out, and the first photo taken. Looking closely at it, the front elevation of the church was just in full shadow, so another wait of a further half hour resulted in this shot, with full Sun on the stone fence and the side of the church, and graze lighting on the front. 

Good clouds, enough blue sky (polarising filter) all gave me the shot I really wanted. Interesting to think, if I'd got the clear shot at the start, I doubt that I'd have waited over an hour for the sun. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.