Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Flowers…

… I was treated. (Spoiled. ‘Spoiled/spoilt’? A weird expression either way. ‘Ruined’? ‘Given so much nothing shall ever be the same again’?).
As I said, I was given a treat.
Undeserved.
And then we went out for a meal.
I have eaten beautiful food, the unaccustomed richness (and volume) of which is now making me feel extremely uncomfortable. (And is keeping me awake!).

What is it about a food treat (it can be anything, from kind offers of cake or biscuits to an extra portion of anything) that makes bizarre politeness kick you up the bottom to say, ‘yes please, another helping of that would be perfect’, when what you really mean is, ‘my heart is sinking, you have got to be joking, I’ve already loosened my belt three notches, I think I shall shortly find it necessary to leave the room in order to burst quietly (where I hope to leave the minimum mess)’.

I’ve been very polite.

Note to self though: ‘do not do this again’.

To add insult to injury, the beautiful food was also quite salty, which I am not used to either, so I am now really thirsty, but so full that I don’t want to drink!

(I am, honestly, not as ungrateful as I sound !).

There is much joy in a simple life without excess.

Or… I’m probably a grumpy old woman :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.