Look Out

By chrisf

Jacob’s Lamb

C is volunteering today on the Easter Trail at Charlecote Park, so whilst she donned her Easter Bunny head dress and got on with helping the many excited children, I had a walk around the park and then a tour of the house and its associated buildings.

My walk took me past a field where farmers were checking out the new born lambs. The sheep here are a Middle Eastern breed introduced by the Lucy family from Portugal in 1756.

Three extras. Brimstone butterflies were in flight, and I managed to photograph one resting on the ground. A view of C and T’s parish church from the Park, their house lies on its other side and I hear it chiming the hours through the night. And a view of the gatehouse, with the main house just beyond. It is a fine Elizabethan mansion, a National Trust property but with the descendants of the Lucy family still occupying a part of it.

The weather forecast proved to be entirely wrong, for the four hours I wandered around it was largely sunny and surprisingly warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.