PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Haiku

Random in springtime:
garden lattice forms a frame
round one daffodil.

© CW 2024

What a day! As if Strep wasn't enough, I've had the mother of all migraines today. Woke having slept well, but within minutes my sight showed signs of disturbance. I took a Migraleve straight away, but the headache began to kick in quite quickly. So I lay down and closed my eyes. When I surfaced it was ten o' clock. (We should have been halfway to Somerset for Thursday's funeral by then!) So I leapt out of bed and, keeping the light level low, began dressing when, blow me, if I didn't get a second aura (the sight disturbance) and this time the headache kicked in even harder. I took a second Migraleve.

When we finally set off, after 11.00am, I had a blinding headache and nausea: the worst migraine I've had for a long time. Tried to sleep in the car, but couldn't, and nursed a sick-bag, just in case. At last, during the second half of the journey, I did nod off for a few miles. When I woke, the nausea had gone and the pain was much less.

It's now evening, and I still have a faint headache, which, I hope, will be gone by tomorrow after a night's sleep. Fingers crossed. The good news is that my throat is a lot better this evening, though I still have another ten days' worth of antibiotics to take - and fit around mealtimes: at least two hours after food, and at least one hour before eating. Good practice for doing sums!!

This daffodil found itself framed in my sister-in-law's garden, taken through the window.  (Mr PP, of course, did all the driving. He's tired, but did so well so soon after his hip replacement.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.