Happy Moments

By ApolloFly

Saltburn band stand part one

So, we had a clear day today and decided to wander around town and check out some of the ‘that looks nice’ shops and/or cafe’s.
We also wanted to go the library. And it was agreed we would start off at the band stand for me to get my blip.
However, when I walked up to it, there was only a team of painters touching up the railings, bench seats and metal work!!
So the angle I took the photo from was not how I wanted it to be. I shall return another day.
According to the info board close by, it’s actually the fifth one in Saltburn history, the others being in various locations over the years.
It was built to replace one in the valley gardens which was destroyed by a German bomb in WW2.
It has a mosaic on the floor, not that I could see inside as it was tapped off with wet paint signs!
It’s also in the rough location of the infamous Halfpenny Bridge, which spanned the valley. That was demolished in 1974, and I’ve got in mind to find a different reminder of it another blip day, so won’t say more on that just now.

Library was ticked off, several local history books borrowed. Shops in town were investigated and couple of purchases made. Lunch in the RealMeals delicatessen cafe, bacon and brie for me, chilli beef for Callum. Both really good.

And actually that is the first time since we got here that we’ve eaten in town!

More shopping after lunch, a chocolate shop for Easter gifts for the grandkids visiting at the weekend, and The Yorkshire Jewellers for a pair of earrings for me. Whitby Jet, which I love. As if I need more earrings. (But it may just be allowed as I’m only 59 till the weekend. Yikes!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.