PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Links

As I have recently been posting pictures of Carlisle buildings and telling some of the city's history, a fellow Blipper has enjoyed the memories of a Carlisle childhood that they have brought back to her. It has encouraged her to look up some old photos . . . . . . and find a book. 

This book was given to all Carlisle pupils in 1958 and Rona has kept her copy ever since. Trying to find a home for the book, she realised I might be able to provide one . . . I can and I now have it. 

We have both enjoyed reading it and Gordon especially has learnt things about Carlisle that he didn't know. (He missed out on the book as he went to school outside the city.) I will no doubt use it as my exploration of Carlisle buildings continues. 

Interesting that I found I was using some fabric that was on my table as a backing for the book photo and realised that it is a link with Carlisle's past. In the 18th and 19th centuries Carlisle had a thriving textile industry, based mainly on the bleaching and printing of calico. Much of the fabric I have was given to me by Gordon's sister who worked in Carlisle in the design side of fabric printing - for John Lewis furnishing fabrics.  

I was very pleased, and honoured, to receive this book and will care for it. It is not the first book  I have been entrusted with via Blip. What wonderful links we make - each with each other. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.