Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

When wishes come true

As Diane and Connie and I explored some bird habitats last weekend, I kept telling them I was hoping to see an owl in the wild.  Did not happen.

This morning I noticed the deer coming through the woods going to the feeder and saw some wings swoop down.  I went to get the camera thinking it was a red shouldered or red tail hawk as we get those around the yard but to my surprise it was this barred owl!

He lingered around for about 15 minutes looking for breakfast on the ground and in the trees.  He moved to different trees where he was concealed behind branches but I was still able to get some shots.


I was so excited!!   And grateful for its visit.   I hope it will come back again and be a regular visitor.    I took photos with the SX60 as it has a digital zoom so the photo is not totally sharp.   I do have some other photos using the 300mm lens but I haven't loaded them yet as there are a gazillion photos to be downloaded from the blip meet.   I hope to get those downloaded this weekend and do several collages.  Including the Bull Island adventure.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.