Marionb

By Marionb

Another Book...

Another quiet day but with another surprise visitor! 

Ian, my neighbour who, after Eldon moved away, now helps me out in the garden, brought his daughter over to visit...What a sweet little girl she is! She celebrates her first birthday next week...hard to believe that that year has gone by so quickly!  Ian and his wife both have access to parental leave in their jobs, so they split the year of parenting in half...His wife took the first 6 months and Ian has been the at-home parent since then and he has really taken to the task!  Of course I took a lot of photos...but not to post. 

So, my latest book, The Bookbinder, became my emergency blip. I was drawn to the book because I had really enjoyed the author's other book The Dictionary of Lost Words, and by the title; I have been interested for quite some time in creating handmade books and journals and in learning more about the bookbinding process. I even hoped to include a bookbinding workshop at West Dean College back when I was planning my trip to England in 2020...the trip that Covid canceled. 

I was reminded when photographing the book today, of a hand-made sketch book my friend Donna had made for me before we left for our month in Italy back in 2002..I hadn't had it out for years....so I pulled it off the shelf for its blip close-up and then luxuriated in some pretty nice memories! What good times we had....

* Hand-made gifts like that are especially treasured...and I have a few from Donna that will always be special to me... I have blipped one of them before...on August 8, 2021.

Meanwhile, slide scanning and trip planning are still ongoing....not much progress on either front! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.