Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Resurrected

Holy Saturday, a day of desolate sadness and later joyful hope for Christians. I went into the church to put some donations in the food bank box, and looked at the beautiful Easter lilies. Three of them are in memory of Mum, Dad and my sister Kaye. I placed some flowers on Mum and Dad’s grave and then sat in the churchyard for a while in the sunshine (see Extras for the lilies and flowers).

Dad had planted a rhododendron in the garden years ago, and it has struggled to stay alive. Last year it had more shrivelled dead bits on it than ever, and I painstakingly cut all of them off to get rid of any disease it might have. This spring a miracle has happened, and the rhododendron has blossoms and buds all over it. When I took a photo, I somehow managed to get a burst of heavenly rays shining down on it. An appropriate image for Easter, I thought.

In darkness I read from the Book of Genesis at the Easter Vigil this evening. The Paschal candle was lit from a bonfire, we brought light into the church, renewed our baptismal vows and proclaimed the Resurrection of Christ. Happy Easter to everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.