Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Home

Pretty disconcerting time travel, with two flights each of about 7 hours, with a 2 hour transfer in Doha, yet arrived 10 hours after we left KL. Meals of odd food at strange times, a movie (Field of Dreams) and some old episodes of Repair Shop, lots of sleep (dreaming I was awake), babies crying and swelling feet…..the usual long haul experience!
V’s son and granddaughter came to met us at the airport and dropped me home and all of a sudden I was back…in the first period of quiet and solitude in three weeks. It was quite disorientating!
Chatted to the kids a bit and immediately got unpacked and put the first of several loads of washing on, then made a cup of tea and sat down to catch up on post and come to terms with being back. Felt in a bit of a dreamlike state and not motivated to do much whilst not actually tired, and caught up on a few recorded things on TV as an excuse to just sit for a while. Despite the heavy cloud when we landed it turned out quite a sunny day and not as cold as we’d feared, so I went out to walk to the shops for something for supper and remind myself of the sights and sounds of my neighbourhood which still feels a bit strange after the rainforest (probably just as well we had some city days in KL to help the transition!).
I’d thought to go over to A’s to stay for the weekend but in the end felt too comatose to do anything so will go in the morning and we’ll be having a lovely roast lamb lunch together that she’s planned.
So strange to be on my own again and can’t quite remember what I’d normally be doing…it’s going to take a while to readjust!
L&M and some of their kids have been staying and left the place immaculate which was lovely of them…they’re at N’s now but I hope to see them on Tuesday when they’re back.
Fell asleep at 9.30pm… I was holding out for as late as possible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.