Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Spring in the Borders

Well my night wasn't as successful as I’d hoped (or as the Nytol had promised!). I slept well from about 10pm to 2am, then kept waking and dozing but by 3.30am I gave up trying and just started on Wordle, Duolingo and reading the papers. Probably just as well the clocks went forward as at least it didn’t feel such a long night. (V managed to sleep from 9pm to 10am!)
When I got up it was to a beautiful sunny day, and my drive down to A’s house was gorgeous. Such a beautiful route through the rolling green hills, daffodils decorating the hedgerows and lambs jumping around in the fields. Such different countryside to the rainforest…the trees here look so small!….but both beautiful in their own way.
Lovely to see A and Paisley again and over coffee and a hot cross bun we had a good catch up chat about the holiday, her work and a possible job opportunity for her, the garden, jewellery, and her travel plans for the next few weeks. She was pleased with the various things I’d brought back for them both so that was good. Phoned Mt for a similar catch up….they're going to come up and visit the weekend after next so that will be fun and the science festival will still be on which I suspect the weans will love. Hope the weather stays as good as today.
We decided to take a trip down to Kelso whilst the leg of lamb was slow roasting to see the antiques fair and had a mooch around the many stalls, where her penchant for all sorts of tat was in evidence although we didn’t buy anything in the end. It’s amazing what some people try and sell!
Home and prepped the veg and got that on to cook whilst we did some seed planting in the greenhouse and I admired the new shelf and potting corner she’s constructed in there.
Our late lunch was delicious, and Paisley enjoyed a few offcuts herself, then we settled on the sofa to watch a movie together. So nice to be back with her.
We had (a little!) dessert later…hot cross bun bread and butter pudding…also delicious, then I thought I’d better come home as I’m sure to suddenly just get too tired this evening. So lovely to have it still light after 8pm….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.