ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill ' 't Vliegend Hert', Brielle

'Vliegend' = 'Vlie-ghend' (NOT the 'g' in 'giraffe') = means 'flying'
'Hert' = deer
't Vliegend Hert = 'The Flying Deer' ... oh dear!
Brielle = 'Bree-luh'

Another uncertain day, weather-wise, but the promise of some sun early in the afternoon.  Jo, the wife of ex-colleague Mike, comes from this town, and asks me everytime we meet if I'd already done 'her' mill.  Today was the day!  Before using my camera, I used my mobile phone to take a couple of shots, which I then immediately sent to her, to which she quickly responded, all smiles.  That done, more shots with the regular camera.  Extra -- panoramic attempt at a landscape shot, but a couple of steps more backward and I would have tripped over a ledge and fallen into the water.  Anyway, you get an idea of the surroundings.  There's a little playground close by but the view over the water was fab.

Not the sea but the moat of the medieval city centre -- Brielle used to be a fort, and it played an important part in the struggle for independence against the Spanish Habsburgs (Philip II and his ilk).  Every 01 April, no joke, a whole-day reenactment of the recapture of Brielle by the Dutch guerillas takes place here, the whole town in period costume.  Jo has informed me that she has taken part in this colourful event.  It will be 01 April in a couple of days, but the weather is truly discouraging.  I'll wait for our own Nassau Day in Breda, when the arrival of the first Nassau will be commemorated.

After Brielle, drove to colleague Micky's place in Numansdorp for some tea and a good catch-up.  She is undergoing a burn-out right now, has been for a while, but now she has learned to accept her situation and stopped fighting herself.  You can't get better if you deny you're ill, right?

No live bridge for AW at Sweed's and Benna's because Lavinia had other commitments, so we had a nice quiet evening, as usual with AW watching TV and me gaming and reading.

Thankful for the hunt today, and that I've managed to hit 460 despite delays.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.