Elegg

By Happyme

Busy Saturday

What a morning at the village hall. It was the busiest on record. 96 bacon butties and who knows how many cups of tea and coffee. I refilled the urn more times than ever before and my arms are aching from the constant lifting of kettles for the refills! It was a joyous morning. There were people sitting on the benches and gathering outside as the hall was full to overflowing. There was an Easter bonnet competition, chocolate raffle and rabbit wreaths decorated for judging. I wish I'd taken more photos but it was just too busy. We had lots of people people, not on the rota to volunteer,  collecting dirty crocks and clearing tables and washing up to keep up with demand! It was all hands on deck!
The photo was the end of the counter which I snapped before people started to arrive. 
We had the committee meeting after all the clearing up was done so it was a longer morning than usual..
Luckily the sun was shining when we'd finished so after a stroll back home up the hill I sat in the garden and enjoyed my own cuppa and a well earned sit down! 
The rest of the day was very leisurely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.