Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

The Gathering

I took a trip to Windsor Great Park to enjoy this Easter Saturday weather.  I had originally thought to head to Bushy Park in the hope of seeing the deer, but felt that, given the weather and a bank holiday weekend, the traffic to and around nearby Hampton Court Palace would be horrendous (coupled with the 20mph limits now being set by many London boroughs), so took a shorter, quieter journey instead.

I parked up at the Ranger's Gate and walked up to the Copper Statue with its views along the Long Walk to Windsor Castle.  On the way I heard and spotted Red Kite, but the only decent shot I manage was of one briefly resting in trees (extra).

One the way back I spotted a few deer deep in the parkland, but managed to get closer to them. AS I got closer the "few" became "many", initially divided into two distinct groups of stags and does. However the suddenly started moving off and merging into the largest herd I have seen.  The main image picks out just one magnificent young stag watching the land around while his male and female companions enjoy the grassland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.