soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

Liskeard and Plymouth

My son L will be in Berlin for his 30th  birthday in a week or so - a good idea I think! So we had a small family get together in Plymouth yesterday to mark the occasion.  D and I went via Liskeard, partly to go to the Oxfam shop for him to get a card and a small gift, (L has already had his big gift from us, a kayak). 
Liskeard is fab - I would suggest real Cornwall rather than tourist Cornwall.  It seems to be there for the people who live there, unlike places like St Ives. And as it is deemed a deprived area it gets some extra funding.  It’s where my friend G - who was until recently the manager of the Oxfam shop where I volunteer,  now lives. 
Top right is the new library, oddly enough a project in which my dil’s organisation were involved ( they do up disused buildings for community benefit). It looks empty, but a minute or two earlier all those tables were full, as was the other end (behind me) where there are chairs and sofas to sit and chat and look at books. I saw lots of people (especially children) taking out books. Seems to be working well as a library and social space (and they have delicious cakes). 
Bottom left is a mosaic outside the Co-op, which I liked a lot.  Bottom right, a glimpse along one of the main shopping streets, delightfully traffic free.  Along from where I’m standing (under the umbrella ) was an Easter bonnet competition which seemed to be going well. Top left is my dil’s mother’s dog.  He’s 10 months old, I think he’s a border terrier.  Awfully sweet and really well behaved. 
We had a nice low key afternoon, fabulous food, all vegetarian though I’m the only actual veggie there.  It was a bit cold in the garden but we held out most of the time.  My extra really makes me laugh, tho obviously not taken by me, and not flattering of either of us.  Me and L unconsciously mirroring each other. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.