LesTension

By LesTension

HAPPY EASTER TO ALL MY BLIP FRIENDS

Today is my father's birthday.  Had he lived, he'd be 108 y.o.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY POP!
~
It is Easter but it's also Motorhead Sunday.  And I can't think of a nicer present to share than a 1977 Triumph Bonneville "blokecycle."  I used to have one of these back in the day.....an earlier 60s model.  One of the nicest handling bikes I've ever owned.  I traded it in on a Norton Atlas 750.  Loved that bike too...but it wasn't as nimble as the Bonne but man did it rip up the asphalt bitumin.
~
A 650cc parallel vertical twin, carb tickler, 54 hp shaker with a wet, multi-plate clutch and a top speed of 110mph (177kph).  It had a manual kick starter that worked very well...except in the Springtime when I had to kick my a-double off before it decided that it wanted to go.  It had an honest to gosh compression release that was essential to getting it started.  But once going.....it was like I was born to ride it.  Fit me like that proverbial glove.
~
Here's a link to the entire history of the Bonneville from the first one to the present:

https://www.runmotorun.com/motorcycle-musings/triumph-bonneville-history#:~:text=The%20Triumph%20Bonneville%20was%20first,made%20from%201959%20to%201983.
~
BEST IN LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.