JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Chocolate therapy

We both woke fairly tired: it wasn't an easy night with Luca, as we knew it might not be.  He had quite a few coughing episodes. Somehow he slept through them all himself, but R and I couldn't. I spent the first half of the night lying next to Luca, and R did the second half.  For R, this brought echoes of lonely times as an asthmatic child; for me, there were less painful memories of various ordinary winter coughs and colds. I have a particularly vivid memory of my parents giving me little pats of butter rolled in sugar at those times: swallowing these seemed to help in calming a sore throat and a persistent cough.
This is not a remedy we can try with Luca, who can't have dairy products. But some ordinary Boots honey and lemon cough medicine did help a bit.
Eben, asleep in a different room, had a reasonable night. They were both more sparky in the morning than we were :-)
Later in the morning I drove them both home, to find Josh feeling a little better than yesterday.
This afternoon I made a fruit cake for Richard's birthday, which is tomorrow. And had a long Facetime chat with Barbara, in the US: our fortnightly catch-up.
The image is part of the flat 'egg' that R bought for me, for Easter, from our local chocolate-maker's shop, 'Sorrel's Cocoa Bakery'.  I love the retro touches, particularly the embedded Milky Bar kid.  
It will be an early night, I think...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.