Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Tree Shrew

Ever since I first spotted these elusive creatures, I have been trying daily to get a better shot. The only other shot I have blipped was October 7th last year and really I shouldn't have bothered.

I have come closer a couple of times since, but today's shot is the best so far. Still a long way to go and I will still be trying everyday on future safaris.

I usually see these squirrel like creatures a couple of times a week. The first sign that they are around is the noise they make, a 'chak-chak-chak' sound. What I have learned is that once you hear this sound, you have got no chance of a shot, as I am pretty sure that this is a danger cry, meaning that you have been spotted.

This morning, looking well ahead, I spotted a couple in the trees above the path. They move through the trees with lightning speed that simply defies gravity. I manage to get within about 30 feet before I was spotted and that was that. This was the only decent shot, cropped to death, but still the best so far.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.