The second half of life..

By twigs

Godwits

A dreary morning - grey skies, a few raindrops (though nothing I would call rain) and general dullness - not exactly golden Golden Bay.  I eventually made the decision there was little point in staying another night but before I left I did a little bird watching along the Pakawau shoreline - godwits, oystercatchers, a gannet, dotterels, black swans, swallows, a king fisher, seagulls, goldfinches.......such a busy wee spot!  Spot the tagged godwit in this image.

At another location a saw a skirmish in the shallow water and just managed to glimpse small fish leaping out from the water.  I pulled over then sat and waited a wee while to see of the scene repeated and lo and behold, it did!  This time I had my camera armed and ready.  Is that fear on the wee fishy faces in extras?  Not sure what was doing all the splashing about but it must have been quite sizeable......?

Home now but left unpacking until tomorrow.  I also just rather impulsively signed up for a weekend workshop down the West Coast in December.........not at all like me to be impulsive but it does sound good.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.