PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

This will be gone . . .

I try to keep an eye on picture books being published, even now when I am no longer buying them for school, for children, for grandchildren. I still like to know what is going on in the picture book world. However, sometimes books pass me by and I only catch up with them at a later date when someone refers to one or I read about them.

A few days ago I found out about this one and I immediately ordered a copy (hurray I could still get a hardback edition). I am sure there will be blippers who have known about this book for a while. It was published in 2018 and is a true story about Kielder Water in Northumberland and about musicians Mike and Kathryn Tickell. It is a glorious book - one for all ages.

The Dam by David Almond, illustrated by Levi Pinfold.

(There are several YouTube versions of the book, but this link will take you to a reading by Kathryn Tickell herself - https://youtu.be/o498B_spVt0?feature=shared

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.