TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The Easter weekend begins

I’ve never really liked Easter: not being religious in any shape or form, I don’t really do the religious aspect. I remember, as a young child, having fish on Good Friday, and then the ubiquitous chocolate on Sunday, but that is about as far as it goes. I think part of my disdain for it – disdain is too strong a word – is because it is a moveable feast. I never know when Easter is until Ottawacker Jr’s school sends a reminder that he won’t be going in. Strange to be so removed from an event that has been a fundamental foundation stone of western civilisation. And there is not even the madness of a full weekend of football to keep me occupied.
 
Anywho, spent a lot of the day working, trying desperately to catch up on the hours I owe for the New Zealand job. And halfway through came a bombshell. The department I work for has been axed – as in closed down. Staff have been given redundancy notices and (I think) reasonable severance packages – but the timing is, as ever, execrable – just before a long weekend, so designed to stop people moaning, complaining and organising – and it obviously ruins things for a lot of people. My own job is only tangentially connected to the university – and the section I work for is independent of it – so I am not really affected, but things like this don’t half piss me off. Three PhD students were due to start – including one from west Africa who had apparently sold his house to finance the move to New Zealand. People, as ever, are not part of the equation when this sort of shit goes down: it’s all money, all shortsighted, and all cack-handed.
 
Ottawacker Jr has branched out from his failing snow removal business and is now raking leaves for the neighbours. He seems to be taking it very seriously (or has branched out into some sort of cult). Mrs Ottawacker spent the day making a meat pie from scratch. It turned out very well. Then we watched The Lord of the Rings – Fellowship of the Ring as an Easter treat. Some of, those with nut allergies, can't have chocolate...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.