Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The Froggy Bottom Trail

A walk today with Jerry at Conestee Park in Greenville. He can be bribed to walk with me by offering lunch at a favorite restaurant.

I was hoping to find the yellow water lilies blooming but they are just starting to bud with a few showing yellow.

The trails at the park all connect and all have different names. This trail was my favorite as it went through some swampy area and was new since I had been here previously. It also took us to the edge of the Reedy River for part of the trail where we walked on loose sand that was like walking at the beach. A real calf muscle workout there.

I had the Merlin bird sound recorder on which picked up many birds..one being a white throated sparrow and Paula. We never saw them as the forest was thick with new leaves. Lots of violets and other spring flowers along the trails.

I love this park!

I plan to go back soon with the real camera to get photos of the yellow water lilies. Yes, a real camera which was packed in my small backpack but left at home! A senior moment but I did grab water and snacks! I was so mad at myself for leaving that backpack behind!

Snacks and water ….Most important for the hubby. His first question when we get there “ how far are you walking?” He knows me. I really wanted to walk all the trails but we did not. Next time I will!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.