Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Tiny New Fig Leaves

Most people with fig leaves because of their size...featuring prominently in paintings of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden after being tempted into eating an apple by the snake and feeling the need to cover themselves. These little leaves backlit by the evening sun would barely cover my thumb but they looked almost like flowers.

I picked up a message late last evening from my dentist informing me that I had an appointment today at 11am. One of the things I have been putting off until I feel more 'normal' was finding a new dentist as this one is never around. While I like his hygenist, it just strikes me as disrespectful that he never can be bothered to show up at work. As it turns out, I couldn't keep the appointment today anyway because I'm now supposed to take an antibiotic before any dental work and who knows what else. I called and, not surprisingly, had to leave a message apologising for the late cancel and remaining vague about coming back until I decide what to do.

Spurred on by that decision, or perhaps lack thereof, I moved on to my next deferred appointment which involved a phone call to a new vet for Spike. He comes highly recommended by our friend Tobi and while we like our current vet, an old college friend of Dana's, we hardly get to see him either. It is a very crowded practice, with at least four vets and always a lot of waiting in an uncomfortable waiting room with many furry animals in various stages of anxiety. 

Saw the physical therapist's assistant, Katie, today who I find to be a bit kinder and more attentive. The goals are the same, and although I am still lacking the last degree or so of extension, I think adjustments are being made so that her attentions were a lot less painful. She did say that she saw a lot of people with knee replacements and she thought I was doing very well. It never hurts to hear that....

Tomorrow I see the Great Man and then perhaps things will begin to wind down and seem more normal, although I stick to my old mantra that there really is no such thing as 'normal'....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.