Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Ferns on a Bridge...

...crossing Santa Rosa Creek. They literally grow out of the outside of the road surface of the bridge.The water level has dropped considerably, cutting off the arm of the creek to the left of the main one. There is also a lot of debris blocking parts of it, but nobody seems to claim responsibility for cleaning it up....

John elected to come with me to see the Great Man today. There was nothing surprising about it other than the fact that he actually looked at my knee, had me extend and flex it and pronounced it good. He said I only need two more P.T. sessions which made me very happy. He is actually a very down to earth fellow, much more practical and happy to go with what his eye can see, without torturing me until my knee can conform to the measurements on the little measuring instrument the P.T.s use. After chatting about dermotologists ("they're just 'whittlers'...most skin cancers don't grow that fast. My father is 83 years old and I tell him that skin cancers won't grow fast enough to be a problem for him.") he looked at me and said, 'I'm really proud of you'. I must have looked a little nonplussed, because he said, 'No I mean it. You can do whatever you want now.' I said I  thought he had something to do with it, and he said, 'well, we're all  a team...'

We also talked a little about what happened to our pharmacy and the fact that Robert, the pharmacist had to close and transfer all his clients to Rite Aid where he is also working. Dr Howe said he thought the problem was that someone decided he was filling too many prescriptions for scheduled drugs. 'It's not his fault...it's our fault for writing the prescriptions...' He concluded with the fact that most professionals, and I suspect he included himself, 'don't know how to do anything else and don't have many hobbies because they work all the time....'

I hope he remembers to send in a prescription for antibiotics I will need to take before I go to the dentist. I know two people who wound up with serious, hard to treat infections that lodged in joint replacements. I will definitely be compliant with that requirement, whenever I find a new dentist....

All in all a very satisfying visit. And we didn't even have to wait very long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.