Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Mata Ortiz Abstract

This is a close up of the design on a pot that Dana brought back for me from the pottery town of Mata Ortiz in Mexico. The artisans there are just amazing. They paint each pot by hand without using a pattern.This pot is almost perfectly round and about 13 cm in diameter. The pattern doesn't repeat itself anywhere yet fits seamlessly on the surface of the pot. Impressive talent! The name of the artist is on the bottom of the pot. I put a picture of it in extras

It was raining when I got up this morning after a not great night's sleep. Despite the A+ and the "I'm really proud of you" from the doctor and his staff, I am ready for a good night's sleep. It's quite bizarre to toss and turn at night when I have relatively little pain during the day. But the first words out of the Great Man's mouth (after asking John what game he was playing on his phone) were that the last to go would be night pain and pain when going from sitting to standing. I don't have much problem with the latter so that should be a good sign.

I went to Physical Therapy today and gave them the word that I am cleared for discharge by the doctor, so Monday will be my last session. I achieved full flexion and extension today, the measurements with the gadget goniometer confirming what the doctor saw with his eyes only. I was interested to see that a goniometer is available for purchase on Amazon for about $5, and there is also, of course,  a You Tube video on how to use it. We worked on some balance exercises today which were more fun than leg raises and squats. 

The temperature dropped precipitously and the sky turned ominously dark as I came out of the clinic but John and Spike returned from their walk in the nick of time. No sooner was I in the car than it started to rain again. It's still cold out there but the sun has come out again and the clouds seem more intent on sinking behind the hills.

Our resident turkey is standing on the porch railing preening herself.We saw the tom in the driveway, but he's a bit more circumspect about coming any closer than that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.