This is the day

By wrencottage

Easter palms

I slipped up to church for the mid-week communion service this morning and arrived early, so I took this shot quickly on my phone because I loved seeing the flower arrangements surrounded with the palm fronds.

This afternoon Smithers and I sat down to watch the funeral service for my late cousin’s husband. A message on the screen said the service would start in two minutes, which was the appointed time. A screen saver started playing, showing beautiful scenes from around the world, accompanied by gentle music. The screen saver continued for some time, and then began playing again … and yet again. After 25 minutes I received an email from another cousin (who is currently in Sri Lanka, and was watching from his hotel room) saying he’d heard from someone in the family that there was a 45 minute delay.

The service finally started over an hour later than scheduled, and the delay was swiftly explained by the Vicar conducting the service, who said there had been a road traffic accident on the main road near the crematorium which had delayed the mourners arriving for the previous service. She asked us all to pray for the family of the seriously injured accident victim. After this unfortunate start our service went very well, and there were some moving tributes to a lovely, caring man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.