Winsford

By Winsford

Gaothach

We woke up to blue skies and a forecast that suggested it would be dry all day. Ideal we thought for along the headland to Waternish Point from the old church at Trumpan.  What we hadn't reckoned on was the wind which was fierce and so we changed our plans and enjoyed a shorter walk along the roads connecting the various houses.

Instead of having our packed lunch at the light house we had it in our accommodation and enjoyed the views over to Uig. 

After lunch I went exploring while T stayed "home". I walked to Gillan, the next township along, until the end of the road and then followed a rough track down to a bay underneath the cliffs. I was in my element - it would have been perfect for swimming but the sea was too rough. 

I found it really interesting walking past all the houses strung along the hillside -  many look empty - possibly weekend or holiday homes - others inhabited, some of which are clearly working crofts. I also spotted a cake shed and a chilli jam marmalade one. This will be investigated further.

The weather also made realise just how hard life must have been in days going by - the wind was pretty relentless. 

We are now sitting, sipping a glass of wine and watching the constantly changing sea. 

I reckon I've walked at least 8 miles and so helpfully will sleep well tonight and hopefully there won't be a repeat of the power cut we had last night - it was rather strange to wake up to pitch darkness, no WiFi or phone signal and no lights. Fortunately I remembered where the torch was. 

More local walks beckon tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.