iaint

By iaint

Sofrito Saga

I promised I might Blip the sofrito I made the other day, if I could remember, and if I felt like it. 

Well, it rained all day today and I have been stuck at home using my time to attack a variety of tedious, irritating and outright annoying tasks. My hope was I would be able to take some satisfaction from that activity. 

But, a day like this does not produce much Blip material. So, yes, the sofrito

When I was much (much) younger and living in Toulouse (bits of 1972 and 1973) my gastronomic horizons were expanded massively after growing up on a very traditional Scottish diet (ugh) and then enduring a couple of years of cafeteria food at university. 

One evening in Toulouse we took ourselves into a restaurant in rue Pargaminières and I ordered the Arroz Cubano - Cuban rice. I had never heard of such a thing, but loved it. Needless to say Cuban restaurants were non-existent in Scotland back then - maybe they still are. I have never visited Latin America so I have not had an opportunity to eat it again. 

Then one day last month I went looking for the recipe online… you can guess the rest. 

Actually, the Blip gives it away so not much guesswork is needed. The sofrito is the splodge of sauce on top of the rice. 

Fried eggs, fried banana, rice with spice - ideal for a miserable, wet evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.