Greenstead

By Greenstead

March Lambs

This is the first time I’ve seen the March lambs reasonably close up. Until today they have been at the far end of the field, hidden in the hollow. I thought this would be appropriate for my blipday.
I’ve been to the market, the church coffee morning , a WI committee meeting and the Borderlines Bookclub remote meeting.
At the coffee morning I encountered some ladies from the local council who wanted to talk to local people about local services and to encourage us to do more for ourselves. Coming to a small town with an elderly population that has just waited 9 months to get one bus a day to our nearest town restored (and this is only one example) I think they need to revisit their approach.
At the Bookclub we were talking about The Promise by Damon Galgut. The promise was to a black servant by a dying white woman in South Africa. It covers a 40 year period pre and post apartheid. Would she, or wouldn’t she get the house? One of the group found it a darkly funny book. I found it a challenging read, mostly about the white family and the decisions they made. There apparently is very little punctuation (which doesn’t bother you if you listen to it) and it’s not for the faint hearted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.