Marionb

By Marionb

Just Playing...

..with my scanned slides..

Today I started the photo-book of the trip I took to England with my friend Elaine (in thumbnail) back in 1987 ...in the days when I did not write travel journals... Drat! 

I have beside me, the letters I wrote home to my daughter, the postcards I sent home and a wee notebook of daily expenses.....Sorting this into a chronicle of the trip is indeed a challenge.

An even bigger challenge is that I did not label those slides! So even if I get the story straight, I am not sure which slides go with what! Of course, some are obvious as I have visited them many times since then.. But others? Heaven only knows! I think I might include a couple of collage pages of unknown places and buildings at the end of the book and call them Where's This

Another issue...A lot of slides did not scan well, so I will have to be creative.. like try to find supporting photos from elsewhere to fill in for missing visuals..or maybe sketch some? 

The upside of being slim on images is that I will have more pages than I really need... meaning I can "play" with the extras..full page photos, or fun collages..things I often do not have room to do in my usual travel books...

So that is my main photo today - playing and experimenting..giving each of us a whole page to perhaps insert somewhere..? We shall see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.