WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Blast from the past

Today, Munroist4113 blipped about a 10th century church and a ruined castle not far from Alnwick. I had a hunch where this castle might be, so I asked.

Yes! It is Edlingham. Don't judge me, but I got out some old photo albums and unearthed this photo of me in 1980, trowel in hand, sitting on the wall of the hall house (of which I later drew detailed drawings of every stone). (Also, don't judge: I'm wearing bellbottoms. It was 1980. I think they were hand-me-downs from a friend; I was broke).

I am slightly biased, because this is where S and I met. But I would love Northumberland anyway: the castles, the coast, the pubs, the people. What a lovely time we had over those three summers, all the diggers crammed into two farm cottages for two months, and helped by delightful hippyish sixth formers from the local college. It's now all excavated and you can visit. But you are not allowed to climb on the walls :)

Other news: Ingrid and I were the only takers for this afternoon's walk. We did a short circular walk which took us an hour, and when we got back I made tea and we sat on the bench outside our house and blethered for the next three hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.